Best Rugby Try Finishes at the Rugby World Cup 2015 – In Infographic

The Rugby World Cup is contested every four years between the top international Rugby teams. The World Cup was first organised in 1987, which was co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand. The last World Cup was held in 2011 in New Zealand, where the host nation won the cup by defeating France.

RWC 2015

The Champion nation of the world cup are awarded the William Webb Ellis Cup, named to honor William Webb Ellis, who invented rugby by picking up the ball during a football game according to popular legend. Just three nations have won the World Cup twice – Australia, New Zealand and South Africa. The English rugby team also won the Rugby World Cup once in their history.

The Rugby World Cup is now organised and monitored by the sport’s international governing body, World Rugby. In the very first tournament in 1987, Sixteen teams were invited to participate in the inaugural world cup. However 20 teams have taken active part of the World Cup since 1999. As England is hosting the ongoing Rugby World cup, Japan is pre-selected to organised the world’s biggest rugby tournament in 2019.

Rugby World Cup

The ongoing 2015  World Cup is the eights settlement of the RWC which is successfully in a true-run by the English organizers. The World cup schedule is started from 18th September and the Twickenham Stadium in London will host the final match of this much-awaited tournament on 31st October 2015. The host nation, England, was chosen to organize the cup this year way back in July 2009 while they defeat Italy, Japan and South Africa in the bidding process. As rumored, World Cup Limited, had recommended England to the International Rugby Board to select the nation to host the prestigious Rugby World Cup.


12 teams out of 20 total teams that are participating in this years Rugby World Cup has qualified by finishing in the top three places in their pools in the previous 2011 World Cup. The rest 8 national teams is selected through their regional competition. There is just one change in team formation from the previous settlement of Rugby World Cup i.e. Uruguay replaced the Russian Rugby Team. It is also the first ever world cup with no new teams in the group since it was first inaugurated in 1987.

Previous articleThe Actual Story behind this season’s English Premier League – 2015-16
Next article10 Best Football Home Jerseys of 2015-16 Season
A Creative Writer and Painter by heart, and an aspiring Aero-Engineer by brain. A Pursuant of Master’s Degree in Aeronautical Engineering with vivid interest on Technology, Art, Science, Literature, Mythology and almost about everything in this blue planet. While having deep rooted interest in varied subjects, from Sports to Literature, from Art to Computer Games, from Scientific Discoveries to Social Issues, name anything and it will be stored in the brain bank to share tiniest secret available on that subject in this planet. Take a tour of this curious mind which is hopefully enjoyable.